Harder, Faster, Stronger

What can I say, other than everything related to running is a glorious, rainbow spiked dream with the perfect back ground music and no pain.

Yep, that’s pretty much it. I did Week 1 Twice, then Week 2 on my 3rd week of running, and this last week I did Week 3 on my 4th week of running. I did about double the running times I was supposed to on the running intervals, and had no problems whatsoever. Basically for all 3 workouts last week I broke the 20 minutes down like this- I did 3 minutes of running at 5.5, 2 minutes of walking at 3.5, repeat 3 times. The last 5 minutes I just ran straight, at a 5.5. I did all of this at a 1.5% incline.

Again, please, I know that those aren’t crazy impressive paces or distances. The point is, I was a girl with crippling hip and back pain, who could hike and bike and yoga all day long, but running destroyed me due to the injuries. Now, I’m enjoying running. I’m looking forward to it. I’m pushing myself, and daydreaming about things like half marathons… this is HUGE.

I’m going to be proud of every measly little mile, dammit!

Oh, and speaking of measly miles- as it turns out, the hike was 8 miles round trip instead of 6. Oh, and it gained 2,300 feet in elevation instead of 1,000 πŸ™‚ But at the end of it we were on top of a mountain, so I’d say it’s worth it.

This is us, after hiking to the base of Grey Rock. We ate lunch in its shadow, contemplating how crazy it was that soon we’d be on top of it….

On top of the previous rock. Incredible views! From the previous picture to here there isn’t too much of a trail, and more than half of it you are on hands and feet, scrambling over and climbing rocks. Great day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

