End of Week 1 Repeat

So in my last post I was about to skip off to W1D3 of C25K. I mentioned how I was having no pain. Well, apparently I jinxed myself.

No worries, it wasn’t a big deal, but as I was running my right foot, around my ankle, started feeling super tight, like it really needed to pop- not in a terribly bad way, but in a way that gave my foot some instability. I ended up taking it on the very, very, very safe side and cut my Day 3 run short by 7 minutes- I walked them at a 3.5 pace instead. I did an hour of ashtanga/vinyasa flow yoga right afterward, which included a lengthy standing series, and my right foot did just fine. It was a bit sore, which was strange. I finally was able to put my finger on it- my foot was sore like any other muscle that had been worked. I had just never felt that feeling in my foot before.

The next day it was fine, and we celebrated my birthday all day long- we went to the St. Pat’s parade, we had lunch with friends, and then that night we went out to Jumpstreet, followed by dinner and drinks at Boulder Cafe and then dancing until 2 a.m. at The Catacombs. For ease, I’m going to refer you over to my personal blog if you want some pictures to go along with the day’s recap- there is also a video of my execution of a pretty awesome back flip+ toe touch.

Anyway, Sunday I woke up pretty sore after hours of jumping and dancing- literally, I danced for about 2 or 3 hours straight, it was awesome. Monday I just didn’t feel like back and hip were up to do a run, so I took the day off and re-started Week 1 on Wednesday instead. My right foot did much better, no problems, and just to head anything off at the pass I iced it when I got home. The run on Friday went very, very, very well- I went ahead and tried to do intervals of 90 seconds walking at 3.5 and 120 seconds of running at 5.0, instead of just 60 seconds. It felt great, no pain anywhere, and my breathing and stride felt really smooth and easy. I decided to do the last 5 minutes of the workout according to Week 1 parameters, but all in all I felt great. I went to yoga later that day and everything was great there as well.

The run on Friday really gave me confidence that a) I made the right decision to play it safe and repeat Week 1 and b) I am definitely ready to move onto Week 2 tomorrow morning.

I also found “Born to Run”at my local library and for a non-fiction, informational book it is one of the best stories I’ve ever read in my life. Equal parts hilarious, inspirational, insane, and thought provoking. I highly recommend it. I started it yesterday and I’ve already almost finished it. I’ve bookmarked about 5 different places in it, but here is one of my favorite excerpts, about ultrarunner Scott Jurek (a name I was familiar with before; I had no idea he was a part of this story):

Strictly by accident, Scott stumbled upon the most advanced weapon in the ultrarunner’s arsenal: instead of cringing from fatigue, you embrace it. You refuse to let it go. You get to know it so well, you’re not afraid of it anymore. Lisa Smith-Batchen…talks about the exhaustion as if it’s a playful pet. “I love the Beast,” she says. I actually look forward to the Beast showing up, because every time he does, I handle him better. I get him more under control”. Once the Beast arrives, Lisa knows what she has to deal with and can get down to work.” pg 124-125

Leave a Reply

