Yoga and the Aftermath of Day 1

Today I went to my normal Tues/Thurs yoga class. This is a vinyasa flow/ashtanga type class that is just challenging enough to be a good workout, but easy enough on the cardio to be a good recovery day/strength option. The teacher is great, and really knows what she’s talking about. Unfortunately a lot of people have tried to profit off of the explosion of interest in yoga, and sometimes you can find yourself in a room with a whackadoo who has little more credentials than a 24 Hr Fitness weekend seminar. Yoga was great and my arms feel awesome after all of those sun salutations (seriously, the best arms of my life are courtesy of yoga. No amount of basketball, weight lifting, or kick boxing/punching came close to getting me here. Thanks yoga. Nama-fucking-ste).

To back up a little- I noticed this morning that my feet and calves were a lot more sore than they usually are after a run. The 20 minutes I alternated walking/jogging in the Vibrams worked my calves a lot harder than my previous mile to mile and a half runs in my Sauconys. It’s not a bad, painful sore, but a good “oh, hi, I’m your muscle, and I got a great workout, so if it’s ok with you I’ma be sore for a bit, thanks” kind of feeling. Nothing is twinging or giving me cause for concern. My feet feel… I don’t know how to describe it. Maybe “stretched in all directions, in a good way” comes close to what I mean. Have you ever had a really good foot massage, where the masseuse (or awesome friend/partner whom you conned into rubbing your feet) really worked in between the tendons and stretched everything out and you felt a lot more space afterward and you wanted to give them a hug or send them flowers from your feet to them with love? Yeah, kind of like that. My Achilles soreness is totally gone as well.

I’m curious to see how W1D2 goes tomorrow. Oh, one last thing- I have a tiny blister on the end of my middle toe on the right foot. Other than that the Vibrams feel like heaven and I don’t notice them rubbing anywhere. Part of the reason I went with the Bikila LS is because the lacing provides equally distributed pressure, whereas the Bikila has the traditional over the ankle velcro strap. It felt a bit like someone was firmly clasping my foot, which was uncomfortable. I definitely made the right choice for my foot, and for my weird aversion to feeling like someone’s clasping it while I’m running.

Right now it’s shower time, and then a few hours of studying for my teacher certification exam. I love my local library and any chance I get to spend more time there is a good day indeed.

Do good things,

Gadget Cat/Cortney

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bearrunner
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 14:18:32

    Yoga must have felt good following the run in the vibrams… I Imagine they would stretch/ use muscles you didnt know where there! It’s kind of like learning to run all over again

    cheers

    Reply

  2. bearrunner
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 18:05:52

    lol… Your feet feel like they were invited to the party…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

