Couch-to-5K Week 1, Day 1, or, C25K W1D1

I completed W1D1 this morning- a workout consisting of a 5 minute warm-up followed by 20 minutes of alternating 60 seconds jogging and 90 seconds walking. As I suspected, this was not hard for me cardio-wise. I did get a bit sweaty, and my heart rate was definitely up, but I wasn’t panting and crying and praying to Sweet Baby Jesus to release me from my torment. As I also suspected, it was VERY hard for me to get out of my ego and allow myself to do the jogging/walking intervals, because everything in me was saying “oh, COME. ON. You can do so much more than this! Just run, it’ll be fine”. But I know I have to start slow for two reasons- I’m transitioning to running in Vibrams, and my hip is a cranky ole’ bitch who seems to revel in derailing my plans. I had decided not to do any incline, but it was just too easy, so I put the treadmill at an incline of 1. I also made myself go slower than I wanted to- 3.5 speed for the walking, 5.1 speed on the jogging.

As far as running in the Vibrams goes, my initial, first day reaction is that I prefer them over my Sauconys. I had 0 pain anywhere in my body, most noticeably no pain in my hip/knees (which is where the running goal killing pain usually comes from, even on the first day out the gate). The one thing I did notice was that the tendons in the back of my ankle felt a bit sore, and I could feel them being stretched a bit. It didn’t hurt, and I wouldn’t say it was uncomfortable, and in fact it wasn’t even unfamiliar- I’ve felt that same subtle soreness in the back of my heel/ankle when doing standing balancing poses in yoga. I’ve also felt the same subtle soreness in the tendons in my wrists when I first started doing yoga. I don’t believe it’s due to the Vibrams though, because if memory serves me correctly I had the experience when I started C25K the last time, in my Mr. Athletic Store approved Sauconys. I think I’m going to run in my Saucony’s on Wednesday just to compare the two. Plus, I might need to work into Vibrams even slower, so 2 days Vibrams/1 day Sauconys might be a good move to make anyway.

I’m looking forward to Wednesday. 20 minutes goes by in a blink, and because I’m not struggling with my breathing/heart rate I can really focus on my form, as well as the audiobook I’m listening to. So far, so good.

The plan for this week is:

Mon/Wed/Fri– C25K Week 1 Days 1,2,3

Tues/Thurs– my normal one hour of ashtanga/vinyasa flow yoga

Every day– an ab routine I made up that combines Pilates ab work with random traditional exercises and planks. I love it and everyone I’ve taught it to says it’s a beast, so I guess that’s a good thing. Will be referred to as Ab Work on the blog from here on out.

I have plans to include more activities as the weeks progress, but for now I’m going slow and trying to be all respectful of my body, blah blah blah, honoring my abilities or whatever.

Leave a Reply

